Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji Chapter 18

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

[KSS]_Ookami_Shoujo_to_Kuro_Ouji_Ch_18_!announcement_page

(That picture above was done by our lovely OSTKO translator, Michi, a true-blue Kyouya fangirl. If you want to re-post the picture above, please credit back to us. Absolutely no modification is allowed to be done on the picture above. )

Sorry for trolling you guys on Twitter 😀 I bet there were a few excited people expecting an update when they saw the tweet. Anyway, here’s the REAL update which is not quite what I promised. I know I said Atashi no Banbi Chapter 4, Sono Rokudenashi ni You ga Aru Chapter 3 and OSTKO Chapter 18 but unfortunately, due to certain circumstances, I can only released OSTKO Chapter 18 for now. Anyway, sorry for the lateness of this chapter. Everyone was pretty busy in the month of November/December.

Download/Read@Batoto

As usual, I’m looking for the following groups of people:

1) Translators – For obvious reasons.
2) Typesetter – For OSTKO. And for other series as well. I’m looking for people who are creative with fonts, have lots of time to spare & can work within a short period of time.
3) Proofreaders (with Japanese proficiency) – I want people who can read and understand Japanese to proofread the scripts. So if you can speak, read and write Japanese but doesn’t want to translate 40++ pages of Japanese texts, this job is for you.

Please, please, PLEASE apply through the email address shown on the right side of the page. I will not entertain any queries or applications through the comments.

About Atashi no Banbi Chapter 4 and Sono Roku Chapter 3, I will definitely release them next week the latest. That’s a promise.

And if anyone is interested to read what’s under the cut, please do so. It’s just the usual ‘that’s-our-ongoing-projects-why-are-you-suddenly-taking-over’ kind of thing.


It has come to my attention that the Chinese scans are one chapter ahead of us and that there is a website offering the summary for the next chapter of OSTKO. I find nothing wrong with that. In fact, I’m kinda relieved that there are sites offering you guys a sneak peek for the next chapter. It makes me feel slightly relaxed in terms of releasing the English scans but that doesn’t mean I’ll be resting on my laurels. I will definitely try my best to release the chapter asap.

What I find unsettling is the possibility that a certain group of people will take matters into their own hands and start releasing their own version of Ostko’s English scans. I was waiting for that moment to come and lo and behold, I received an email asking for permission to release their own version of OSTKO’s English scans on their website.

Well, at least that person is polite enough to ask for permission rather than releasing it on the sly. But that’s not the point.

C’mon, I’m only late by one chapter for OSTKO and already people can’t wait? I don’t even think OSTKO is as popular as Ao Haru Ride or Kimi ni Todoke where people are waiting impatiently for the next chapter in CHINESE SCANS to come out even before the JAPANESE VERSIONS are out. I can understand if there are groups fighting it out to release those two series. But OSTKO? Really? I thought a lot of people in the forums, review sites etc do not like Kyouya and /or Erika initially? Even said that the series is stupid, cliche with stereotypical characters. So what’s with the sudden change? Kyouya looks agreeable to you now?

When I mentioned the email to the other staff members, they are, understandably, quite livid. OSTKO is our baby. It’s the first ever series that KSS has ever released so of course having someone suddenly wanting to ‘cut queue’ and releasing the chapter before us makes us oh so very annoyed. We have slogged hard for this series for the past one year so there’s no way we are going to drop the project. At least respect us for our efforts all this while by not taking over the scanlation when we did not even mentioned anything about dropping the series in the first place.

So please. Chill. We are late in releasing OSTKO this month but we are not that late.

If you really want to take up a manga for scanlation, please take up a series that has not been taken up by any other groups. If you really want to take up an ongoing series that is currently being done by a group, why not offer your help to them instead so that they can release the chapters faster?

I hope this will be the last time I touched on this topic cause it’s really very annoying, to say the least.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Joanna

     /  January 3, 2013

    Thanks for the release and your hard work! I completely understand being too busy with the real world that you cannot be constantly pumping out releases for our amusement. Thank you so much for devoting the time you do have! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Awesome, thanks a lot for the new chapter!!

    Reply
  3. Michi

     /  January 3, 2013

    YES, you said it shmookie. OSTKO is our baby; Kyouya is my baby. No one is gonna take him from mehhhhhhhh /obsesses.
    Lol apart from the crazy fangirling, I honestly would just throw a fit if people just came and be like “hey you guys are doing a good job. But guess what, since you have lives outside of scanlating, gimme all your hard work and time spent on it so I can work on it like a tad bit faster.” Sigh. Patience is a virtue, people! Give us some time. It’s worth the wait.
    Anywhooooo great work again shmookie. Had fun playing a typesetter for the new year pic last night haha

    Reply
  4. imaai

     /  January 3, 2013

    Thank you so much for the hardwork guys! HAPPY NEW YEAR~!
    you guys were the one who introduced me to OSTKO (and I can’t thank you enough for that) so I really would like to see the end of the series with you all as well (:
    Please don’t let that kind of thing discourages you, be sure to know that everyone here supports you guys and really appreciates your continous high quality releases of OSTKO and other KSS series. Keep up the awesome work & good luck minna-san! ❤

    Reply
  5. Thank you for your hard work and the new chapter! \o/
    I guess we all know why you guys were busy this two last months and we’re all supporting KSS and OSTKO~ !
    Happy New Year!

    Reply
  6. Happy New Year Everybody!!!! Thank you very much for this new chapter from OSTKO, you really made my day with this. And thanks for your work and your dedication for this great manga. Ganbatte minna-san!!!!

    Reply
  7. loumia

     /  January 3, 2013

    Thank you for the release and happy new year =D
    It’s really annoying all these teams who do the exact same projects.
    There is so many good manga who aren’t scanlated by anyone or have been dropped.
    So why not take them? I mean, if you want to scanlate popular manga, it’s up to you to make the people know about how good a serie is. Just like KSS made me discover OSTKO.

    Reply
  8. Jeanne-Jo

     /  January 3, 2013

    Thank you for your hard work and for another awsome chapter.
    All the best for this New Year, so that it will become even better than the last one ^^

    Reply
  9. zaza

     /  January 3, 2013

    Kikou … ^^
    Happy New year 2013 !!! ….
    And a big big tks to you for the new release on OSTKO ….!!!
    I will continue to support you on going on with the scanlations … !!! (even if I read the summary who was done on another site !!!) … I think you are doing a really good job … and I can’t forget that you made me discover this awesome manga …”OSTKO” … and a lot more ^^ …. So for 2013 and more …. let me wish you a lot of happiness and everuthing good to all of you !!!
    Bises ^^

    Reply
  10. Silla

     /  January 4, 2013

    I’m usually not commenting (maybe I should) but for this one…. Good job and keep on going, we can wait even if it’s a bit late! Plus we all know you have a life beside this. So, thanks a lot for your hard work!

    Oh and happy new year! 🙂

    Reply
  11. Woot! Happy New Year!

    Reply
  12. Mimi

     /  January 5, 2013

    Thanks for the release (:
    Totally agree with you guys on the other group stuff.
    I really appreciate the work you guys do. I’m not sure how the other group is but generally the ones that cut in and try to release it before others do really sloppy scanlating =___= So please, don’t let it bother you guys, love the quality you guys have. ^^

    Reply
  13. yaname7

     /  January 5, 2013

    i discovered about this manga yesterday in mangahere..caught my interest, read the ch18, and yeah! I’m lovin’ it! Thank you guys for giving me the opportunity to dl it. I owe you a lot. Keep up the good work 😉

    Reply
  14. Dajaja

     /  January 6, 2013

    Thanks for your hard work guys and I just wanna say that even if other scans are released I’m still gonna come here to get my OSTKO fix. I’m pretty sure the other scans won’t be as high quality and well-translated as yours anyways!

    Reply
  15. please someone can give me the name off this manga i have juste a picture pleasseee http://www.mangareader.net/ookami-shoujo-to-kuro-ouji/7/44

    please

    Reply
  16. Student

     /  January 12, 2013

    Thank you for your release! I’m sorry that had to happen to you. It’s not as if you’ve dropped the project! I’m perfectly fine with waiting. 🙂 Happy belated New Year and I look forward to your future releases.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

